How Do You Manage the Sad?

Yesterday, on Your Caregiving Journey, Holly, who cares for her husband, joined us to talk about how she manages her sad moments. You can listen to our show via the player below.

Holly and I talked about the difference between sadness and depression. For me, sadness is a response to an upsetting situation. I think depression, often described as anger toward inward, has a component of self-blame. I think depression sometimes can be sadness which we blame on ourselves.

Holly shared her techniques to move through her sad moments; she journals and visualizes putting the difficult emotion in a balloon and then pops it. And, she opened up about a sad moment that involved her husband and her son.

We ended our conversation with thoughts about how tough it can be to feel sad. We all have sad moments and it’s important that we feel safe to talk about those, especially when the sad moments happen during a sad experience, like caregiving.

How do you manage your sad moments? Please share a recent sad moment and how you worked through it in our comments section below. I hope the sharing will be a technique that helps you move through the moment.

Upcoming shows on Your Caregiving Journey (listen here):

  • Tuesday, February 15, 9:30 a.m. CT (10:30 a.m. ET, 7:30 a.m PT): Must We Suffer? Anna Stookey joins us for a discussion about suffering. Life can be painful; does suffering have to be part of the pain equation?
  • Friday, February 18, 9 a.m. CT (10 a.m. ET, 7 a.m. PT): Tax Times Two: Penelope W. Morgan, elderlaw attorney and financial planner, offers tips for completing your taxes and your caree’s.
  • Saturday, February 19, Noon CT (1 p.m. ET, 10 a.m. PT): Table Talk: Trish: Trish, who blogs about caring for her brother, will join us to share her caregiving story.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Related
Avatar of Denise

About Denise Brown

I began working with family caregivers in 1990 and launched CareGiving.com in 1996 to help and support them. Through my blog, I share words of comfort and offer coping strategies and tips. I also write opinion pieces about recent research, community programs and media coverage of caregiving issues. I've written several caregiving books, including "The Caregiving Years, Six Stages to a Meaningful Journey," "Take Comfort, Reflections of Hope for Caregivers" and "After Caregiving Ends, A Guide to Beginning Again." You can purchase my books and schedule a coaching call with me in our store.

3 thoughts on “How Do You Manage the Sad?

  1. Bette

    I enjoyed the show very much – thank you for sharing Holly. I do believe so many reactions are choices. I am challenged lately with making the right ones.(:

    Thinking of you Holly, your husband and your daughter.

    Reply
  2. Holly Eburne

    Thank you Bette. I am also sending prayers and thoughts your way. Being aware of your breath throughout the day is calming and clears the way for your best choice.

    Warmly,
    Holly

    Reply
  3. G-J

    I finally listened to this today and it was great! Denise and Holly, thank you so much! I was having a “sad” moment and was listening to this program on my iPod while mopping the floors. By the end of the program I felt better and had clean floors! :) Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>