School of You, Fall Session I

Our fall session of our Caregiving School of You starts September 12!

Join me for three-week classes that help you manage your caregiving experience. Our school is about you and your caregiving experience, to help feel better where you are right now.

Our classes conveniently take place over the phone (“teleclasses”). Teleclasses are a great way to learn, share and support—without leaving your house. In this summer school session, we’ve got six courses from which to choose. Register for one, two, three, as many as you’d like.

Register for a class via the registration form at the bottom of this page. After you register and pay, we’ll email you the class phone number and access code as well as homework to complete before our first class. The cost of each class is $37. In addition to the cost of the class, you’ll also incur the cost of a long-distance phone call (whatever rates your long-distance carrier charges).

Space is limited so register early to guarantee your space.

Here’s what participants say about our teleclasses:

  • I so enjoyed the course from both a professional and a personal standpoint.
  • This was phenomenal!
  • Denise, you have such an exceptional manner in leading the discussion and your visualization exercise was the best I’ve ever encountered!
  • I feel better today. I highly recommend the phone class.
  • I just completed a (multi-week) training course for family caregivers; I learned as much in your one-hour presentation as I did in that (multi-week) course.

Our curriculum follows; I’m your leader for each class:

1. Rise ‘N Shine: Start your week with an early morning class focusing on meditation and inspiration. This class is a great way to start your week right. This is a three-week session; a one-hour class each week for three weeks. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time: Mondays (September 12, 19 and 26). Choose from three times: 7 a.m. ET (6 a.m. CT, 4 a.m PT) or 9 a.m. ET (8 a.m. CT, 6 a.m. PT) or 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 8 a.m. PT)

2. Batten Down the Boundaries: In caregiving, you can feel like a doormat—everyone steps all over you. You feel unappreciated, overlooked, taken for granted. You want to stand up for yourself, but you worry: Will I hurt my caree’s feelings? Will my family disappear? With clearly communicated boundaries, you stand up for yourself and let go of the idea that you’re hurting feelings or keeping family away. In this class, we’ll talk about the purpose of boundaries and help you gain the confidence you need to set them. This is a three-week session; a one-hour class each week for three weeks. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time: Wednesdays (September 14, 21 and 28) at 10:30 a.m. ET (9:30 a.m. CT, 7:30 a.m. PT)

3. Help Me Get Help!: You hear it all the time: Accept help that’s offered. You want to… But! Then, you feel guilty because you wonder: Shouldn’t I be able to do this? Or, you think: No one can come in here and do what I do. Or, you worry: How will my caree feel about the help? The idea of help sounds so simple until you try to put it into practice. In this three-week class, we’ll help you come to terms with your guilt and worry about getting help so that you have the help you deserve. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time: Tuesdays (September 13, 20 and 27) at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. PT)

4. Three-Word Journaling: You’ve probably heard this many times: Journaling can be a stress-reliever. So, you buy a journal only to stare at its blank pages. Where to start? What to write? In this three-week class, you’ll have three words to write about every week. We’ll meet on the phone to talk about each week’s three words and then you’ll be assigned three more words to write about until the next class. The class also will help you find the right time to write in your journal. At the end of three weeks, you’ll have a habit that rewards you with insights and comfort. This is a three-week class; a one-hour class each week for three weeks. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time:  Fridays (September 16, 23 and 30) at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 8 a.m. PT)

5. Three-Word Journaling: Grieving: You’ve probably heard this many times: Journaling can be a stress-reliever. And, when you’re grieving the loss of your caree, the stress of managing your grief can be overwhelming. In this three-week class, you’ll have three words relating to your grief to write about every week. We’ll meet on the phone to talk about each week’s three words and then you’ll be assigned three more words to write about until the next class. In addition, the class will help you find the right time to write in your journal. At the end of three weeks, you’ll have a habit that rewards you with insights and comfort. This is a three-week class; a one-hour class each week for three weeks. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time: (September 17, 24 and October 1) at Noon ET (11 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. PT)

6. The Caregiving Years for Family Caregivers: Our three-week session opens your journey to its meaning. The caregiving journey can seem like a journey of questions (Why me? Why now? What now?). In this class, we’ll help you find your answers. We’ll talk about the stages of the experience, which will help you understand where you’ve been and, more importantly, where you’re headed. The clarity you gain will help you understand your journey’s purpose. This is a three-week session; a one-hour class each week for three weeks. Cost: $37 plus long-distance phone charges.

Class Day and Time: Saturdays (September 17, 24 and October 1) at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 8 a.m. PT)

====

Thanks so much for signing up! If you have any questions, please feel free to email Denise.

Profile photo of Denise

About Denise Brown

I began working with family caregivers in 1990 and launched CareGiving.com in 1996 to help and support them. Through my blog, I share words of comfort and offer coping strategies and tips. I also write opinion pieces about recent research, community programs and media coverage of caregiving issues. I've written several caregiving books, including "The Caregiving Years, Six Stages to a Meaningful Journey," "Take Comfort, Reflections of Hope for Caregivers" and "After Caregiving Ends, A Guide to Beginning Again." You can purchase my books and schedule a coaching call with me in our store.

4 thoughts on “School of You, Fall Session I

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Top