Moving from Worry and Guilt to Help

help-button-66608_640This morning, on Your Caregiving Journey, Janice, who cares for her mom, joined me for Table Talk. You can listen to our show via the player below.

Janice is a single mom to two teenagers who operates her own business, Janice Goldsborough Consulting, and cares for her mom. I met Janice in Winnipeg last week; we both presented at a caregiving conference sponsored by Rupert’s Land Caregiver Services.

During our show, Janice shared her worries and her guilt about being enough and doing enough for her mom. She talked about trying to do it all but simply burnt herself out in the process. She reached the point where she laid depressed on her couch. She realized she needed help so reached out to a therapist recommended by a friend. With help of her therapist, she understood the importance of getting help.

Janice also said that she learned that her children are her priority, which then makes making choices during the day easier. She schedules time to be with her mom, who lives in a personal care facility, and hires help to ensure her mom has what she needs.

I loved having Janice as a guest; she’ll return to our show on Saturday, March 23, to share how she talks about caregiving with her kids.

What did you think of our show? Please feel free to share your thoughts in our comments section, below.

Program Note: We’ve got two great shows coming up next week. Richard (@Kreisler) will join me on Tuesday, February 5, at 4 p.m. ET (3 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. PT) to talk about this question: When we need help, are we burdens? And, Darren (@gcdsw2020) will share his caregiving story on Friday, February 8, at Noon ET (11 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. PT). You can listen to both shows and join the show’s chat room here.

Listen to internet radio with Denise Brown on Blog Talk Radio

One thought on “Moving from Worry and Guilt to Help

  1. Avatar of JoJo

    Janice and @Denise,

    I thorough enjoyed this program even though I didn’t hear it until nearly 12 hrs later. Lots of common touch points between Janice and I. She’s like a “sister from another mister”. Please express my appreciation to her.

    I found myself trying to answer the question Denise posed at the end. What would be three bits of advice I’d suggest to others?

    Set appropriate goals. This especially true when considering the the use of a facility.

    Shorten your horizon. Some, maybe much of our anxiety springs from trying to solve the big picture. Sometimes we just need to solve that afternoon or maybe even the next five minutes.

    Love on your team. Most everyone knows that you have to have help, even if we’re reluctant to ask but I think it is also important to treat that help well, pretty much like family as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>