Breaking News
Home > Videos

Videos

Friday Video Chat: Love, Illness and Caregiving

apple-570965_640

Join us on Friday, May 1, at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, Noon PT) for a video chat on the impact of an illness on a marriage. @g-j, who cares for her husband, and @tneumann, a dementia care expert who cares for her son and her mom, will join me. We’ll talk about the recent case in Iowa in which a husband was acquitted for sexually abusing his wife with Alzheimer’s disease. (Read “Iowa Man ...

Read More »

Video: We’re Wearing Green

chris_green

On Friday, four family caregivers–all wearing green–joined me to share how they made the best of the worst. These family caregivers joined me: Jane, who cares for her daughter; Bruce, who cares for his wife; Richard, who cares for his mom and brother-in-law; Chris, who cared for his partner. We’re wearing green to bring awareness to the caregiving experience. You can connect with our panelists on their CareGiving.com profile pages: Jane: @jbones1961 Bruce: @brucemc Richard: ...

Read More »

Virtual Caregiving Conference Follow-Up

Bruce and Kathy McIntyre, our keynote presenters, with their children, Emma (13) and Seth (10).

Yesterday, we aired our 2nd Annual Virtual Caregiving Conference. Miss it? Watch the 2nd Annual Virtual Caregiving Conference archive. I so appreciate our presenters: Bruce and Kathy McIntyre (@brucemc), Richard Kries (@kreisler), G-J (@g-j), Jane Northrop (@jbones1961), Trish Hughes Kreis (@trish), Jim Kane (@jimkanejr) and Holly Eburne. They  shared tips and insights to help you as you care for a family member or friend. During the keynote presentation, Kathy referenced the “spoon story” which helps ...

Read More »

Today: Watch Our Virtual Caregiving Conference!

Bruce and Kathy McIntyre, our keynote presenters, with their children, Emma (13) and Seth (10).

Our 2nd Annual Virtual Caregiving Conference happens today and begins at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT. 11 a.m. PT). To watch our conference, just visit our Virtual Caregiving Conference page at at 2 p.m. ET (1 p.m. CT. 11 a.m. PT). Please feel free to join our chatroom during our conference to connect and share with other attendees. To join our chatroom, just click on the orange “chat button” and then join our “Conference ...

Read More »

Virtual Caregiving Conference Session: Organizing Meds

pills_medication

Our Virtual Caregiving Conference takes place on Sunday, March 29. During our roundtable discussion, which begins at 3 p.m. ET (2 p.m. CT, Noon PT), three family caregivers will join Denise to discuss organizing meds. The three family caregivers will be @g-j, who cares for her husband, @kreisler, who cares for his brother-in-law and mom, and @jbones1961, who cares for her daughter. each will share how they keep the medications organized. View the complete 2nd ...

Read More »

Virtual Caregiving Conference Session: Reflections on My Journey (So Far) as an Only Child Caregiver

Jim Headshot Black and White2

Our Virtual Caregiving Conference takes place on Sunday, March 29. During his session, which begins at 4 p.m. ET (3 p.m. CT, 1 p.m. PT), Jim Kane (@jimkanejr) will share his experiences as an only child caring for is mom. Jim has been actively giving care to his 90-year-old mother since April 2013 when she was diagnosed with congestive heart failure. The initial journey included two hospital and two nursing home stays in two different ...

Read More »

Virtual Caregiving Conference: Your Questions for Holly

Holly with her husband, Dave.

On Sunday, March 29, our Virtual Caregiving Conference closes with a session with Holly Eburne, who cared for her husband, Dave, for eight years. Since the fall of 2010, Holly Eburne has joined me once a month on Your Caregiving Journey’s Table Talk to share her caregiving story. Holly shared the challenges she encountered as she cared for her husband, Dave, diagnosed first with frontotemporal dementia and then ALS. Last month, Holly shared how her ...

Read More »