When you need help, you may struggle to find the time to research options. You may wonder where to start as it can confusing to figure out how to navigate the system.

Our Volunteer Researchers are here to help. Our researchers, students enrolled in our Certified Caregiving Consultants™ training program, are available to research what you need at no cost to you. Our students have volunteered to help because:

  1. they understand how hard it can be find help; and
  2. they want to hone their skills so they can be the best resource possible to their clients, individuals just like you, once they graduate from our training program.

Rather than spending time on the phone or online trying to find what you need, ask our volunteers for help. Our volunteers will do the initial research for you and then follow up with information about the programs, services and providers they found. You, then, use the information to contact these programs, services and providers to choose what works best for you.

Our volunteers can help you find help for your caree, help for yourself and help for both of you. For instance, perhaps you need help finding an adult day center for your caree and a support group for yourself. One of our volunteers can research to find options for both of you in your community.

To ask for help, visit our Volunteer Researchers Page, select a volunteer and complete the form with details about what you need. The volunteer will be in touch with you. We’ll keep you posted as we had more volunteers.

Currently, our volunteer researchers include:

Colleen Kavanaugh, who cared for her mom and dad.
Colleen is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Colleen on her profile page: @colleen.

Jane Northrop, who cares for her daughter.
Jane is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Jane on her profile page: @jbones1961. You also can connect with Richard during these chats:

  • chat for those who want to get organized happens on the first Sunday of every month at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT);
  • our Caring for Children chat on the second Sunday of the month at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT).

Richard Kreis, who cares for his mom and his brother-in-law.
Richard is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Richard on his profile page: @kreisler. You also can connect with Richard during these chats:

  • Let’s Get Organized chat for those who want to get organized on the first Sunday of every month at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT);
  • Caregiving Men chat on the second Saturday of every month at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 8 a.m. PT).

Sally Hayward, who cared for her parents and two husbands.
Sally is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Sally on her profile page: @sara32742. You also can connect with Sally during these chats:

  • Caring for Spouses on Tuesdays at 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. PT) in our Caregiving Chatroom;
  • Now There’s an Idea Chat on the third Saturday of every month at 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT, 10 a.m. PT) in our Caregiving Chatroom;
  • Our Bible Study on the third Sunday at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT) in our Caregiving Chatroom;
  • After Caregiving chat daily at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT) in our After Caregiving Chatroom.

Sharon Hall, who cares for her husband and her mother.
Sharon is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Sharon on her profile page: @srhall419. You also can connect with Sharon during these chats:

  • our chat for anyone who cares for a family member or friend with FTD on Mondays at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT);
  • our TGIFF (Thank Goodness It Is Funny Friday) on Fridays at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT).

Vanessa Maholovich Carden, who cared for her husband.
Vanessa is currently enrolled in our January session of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Vanessa on her profile page: @vanlang.

To ask for help, visit our Volunteer Researchers Page, select a volunteer and complete the form with details about what you need. The volunteer will be in touch with you. We’ll keep you posted as we had more volunteers.

About Denise

I began working with family caregivers in 1990 and launched Caregiving.com in 1996 to help and support them. Through my blog, I share words of comfort and offer coping strategies and tips. I also write opinion pieces about recent research, community programs and media coverage of caregiving issues. I've written several caregiving books, including "The Caregiving Years, Six Stages to a Meaningful Journey," "Take Comfort, Reflections of Hope for Caregivers" and "After Caregiving Ends, A Guide to Beginning Again." You can purchase my books and schedule a coaching call with me in our store.

avatar
  Subscribe  
Please notify me: