Personalized Music: A Powerful Form of Therapy for Persons with Dementia

Denise

Personalized Music: A Powerful Form of Therapy for Persons with Dementia

Denise






Title: Personalized Music: A Powerful form of Therapy for Persons with Dementia
Date and Time: Friday, February 17, at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 9 a.m. MT, 8 a.m. PT)
Presenter: Diane Glittenberg,CDP (Certified Dementia Practitioner)

Music therapy is a fairly new treatment in the area of dementia. The use of music with persons with dementia shows promising results, giving them some sense of clarity, if for a short time. During her 45-minute webinar, Diane with answer these questions:

  • How does Personalized Music help patients with dementia?

  • Does Personalized Music work better than random music?

  • Does Personalized Music reduce the need for anti-psychotic drugs to treat Sundowning?

  • How does Personalized Music awaken a person with dementia that can no longer speak or even recognize their family members?


Diane will share information from some research studies and her personal experiences.

About Diane
Diane studied vocal music at the University of Illinois and continues to sing in her church choir and at other events. She is a Certified Dementia Practitioner, currently working on finishing her certification to become a Certified Caregiving Consultant. She cared for her father, who had dementia, and currently cares of her mother who has Lewy Body Dementia. After losing her position as a manager at a jewelry store, she decided to take a different direction for her career. In addition to caring for her mom, she works for Comfort Keepers and help other family members take care of their moms, dads, and children. This has been the most rewarding career choice she has ever made. She looked for ways to bring comfort to her mother and began looking into music and how it would help. She hopes to be able to help other caregivers to create personalized music playlists for their carees and for themselves.