Our Volunteers Help You Find Help

Denise

Our Volunteers Help You Find Help

Denise
When you need help, you may struggle to find the time to research options. You may wonder where to start as it can confusing to figure out how to navigate the system.

Our Volunteer Researchers are here to help. Our researchers, students enrolled in or graduates of our Certified Caregiving Consultants™, are available to research what you need at no cost to you. Our students have volunteered to help because:

  1. they understand how hard it can be find help; and

  2. they want to hone their skills so they can be the best resource possible to their clients, individuals just like you, once they graduate.


Rather than spending time on the phone or online trying to find what you need, ask our volunteers for help. Our volunteers will do the initial research for you and then follow up with information about the programs, services and providers they found. You, then, use the information to contact these programs, services and providers to choose what works best for you.

Our volunteers can help you find help for your caree, help for yourself and help for both of you. For instance, perhaps you need help finding an adult day center for your caree and a support group for yourself. Our volunteer can research to find options for both of you in your community.

To get started, simply choose one of our Volunteer Researchers and complete the form with details about what you need. The volunteer will be in touch with you.

Our Volunteers

1. Louise Fritsche, who cares for her husband

Louise cares for her husband of 47 years, who was diagnosed with a form of Parkinson”ism” five years ago. Louise joined Caregiving.com during a time they experienced a lot of changes and loss in our lives together. In this community, she has found support and understanding along with valuable resources and tools. She and her husband raised four awesome kids. Her husband founded a non-profit agency to help abused and neglected children in their community. They ran the agency for 18 years until his disease interfered with working and forced them into early retirement. Louise’s passion has always been in eldercare and worked for 10 years in the health care field as nurses aid. Louise moderates our daily morning chat (9 a.m. ET, 8 a.m. CT, 7 a.m. MT, 6 a.m. PT) as well as the Caring for Spouses chat on Tuesdays at 9 p.m. ET (8 p.m. CT, 7 p.m. MT, 6 p.m. PT). You can connect with Louise on her profile page: @frogger16.

Louise describes who and how she can help:

I would be glad to research options for services and support along with informative sites specifically geared to your situation and your carree's illness or disease.

To ask for Louise's help, please complete this form.

~~~

2. Penny Goree, who cares for her husband

PennyPenny, a student and soon-to-be graduate in our Certified Caregiving Consultant training program, has been caring for her husband, Tim, since the year 2000 when he suffered a stroke at the young age of 50. The stroke diminished his speech and the use of the right side of his body. During the past 16 years of caregiving, Penny has accrued extensive knowledge of caregiving, as well as empathy and compassion for other caregivers.

Penny leads a monthly chat in our Caregiving chatroom for those who care for a family member who had a stroke. Penny will host the chat on the first Wednesday of every month at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT, 4 p.m. PT).

Penny describes who and how she can help:

I can help people who are caring people who have had a stroke. I also have experience with caregivers for people who have Aphasia after stroke.

To ask for Penny's help, please complete this form.

~~~

Colleen Kavanaugh2. Colleen Kavanaugh, who cared for her mom and dad.
Colleen is a Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Colleen on her profile page: @colleen


Colleen describes who and how she can help:

Hello. Over the course of a decade I cared for my mother who had cancer and father who had Alzheimer's and Parkinson's. I believe that a key way to gain empowerment is through information and knowledge. I am skilled in online research and able to create an organized and comprehensive picture of available options of services and products. I have the experience to know which questions to ask of professionals in eldercare to receive actionable answers. Let me know what you are looking for and I will be more than happy to assist! My goal in working with clients is to promote strength, health and the grace to flourish during the demanding role of caregiver.

To ask for Colleen's help, please complete this form.

~~~

Sharon_Hall3. Sharon Hall, who cares for her husband and her mother.
Sharon is a Certified Caregiving Consultants™. You can learn more about Sharon on her profile page: @srhall419. You also can connect with Sharon during her chat:

  • our chat for anyone who cares for a family member or friend with FTD on Mondays at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 4 p.m. PT);


Sharon describes on how she can help:

I can find support for you, as a caregiver, in your community and online. I can also help you navigate visiting the doctors and advocating for your carees. Asking the right questions and sharing the right information can ease the stress for both a caregiver and a caree. I have recent experience in getting an accurate diagnosis for a rare disease, frontotemporal degeneration. I can help you connect with vital support for this frustrating disease.

I believe knowledge is power. I believe caregivers need to know how to advocate. I believe caregivers can educate the medical profession.

To ask for Sharon's help, please complete this form.

4. Elizabeth Miller, who cares for her mom, while working and caring for her teen-agers
Helping family caregivers find time for what they love by integrating their personal, professional, and caregiving roles is Elizabeth’s specialty. Her formal training combined with her variety of personal family caregiving experiences positions her to help family caregivers better manage the demands of work, family, personal well-being and caregiving.

Elizabeth explains how she can help:

My specialty is helping family Caregivers integrate self-care, setting boundaries, creating systems, and better managing their time. I'm very familiar with having a packed schedule. I have several years of experience juggling work, kids, marriage, and caregiving.

To ask for Elizabeth's help, please complete this form.

5. Margie Schustack, who cared for her mom.
Margie is a versatile publishing professional with over 25 years experience in marketing, communications and operations around the world. She now is focused on bringing these skills into the nonprofit community first as a consultant to LiveOn NY which focused on advocacy and programs for seniors. Most recently she headed up the ground-breaking Yonkers Thrives dedicated to helping children succeed from cradle to career. She was honored to be a caregiver to her spectacular mom for over 20 years and misses her dearly every day. She knows what it’s like to juggle the needs of work and caregiving as an only child! She has received much support from caregiving.com and is in the process of becoming a Certified Caregiving Consultant.

Margie shares how she can help:

I can help find the practical help needed with a focus on financial issues (including government support - Medicare/Medicaid, bill paying and insurance support), options for managing and finding home health aids, equipment needed for caregiving, and organizational systems related to medication and medical histories and finances.

To request help from Margie, please complete this form.