A Caregiving Comfort: When

0

A Caregiving Comfort: When

0
If I ask for help,

  • will they judge me?

  • will they stop loving me because they may be inconvenienced?

  • will they do a better job than I do?

  • will my caree love me?

  • will my caree still need me?

  • will my caree forgive me?

  • will I know what to do with myself?

  • will I be okay with whom I become?

  • will they think I don't know what I'm doing?

  • will I be comfortable with my vulnerability?

  • will I have to find a new excuse to play it safe?


If I don't ask for help,

  • will I be able to continue?

  • will I sink because I'm too tired to swim?

  • will I forgive myself for the mistakes I make because the person who could help didn't know to help?

  • will I always wonder if I should have?

  • will I lose more of myself?


Is it a matter of when rather than if?

I am strong enough to ask for and receive help because I simply am strong enough. I show courage every day in advocating for my caree. I am courageous in advocating for myself when I ask for help and support, even if it just means asking for help from Google.

Others may not like or approve of my requests so they won't help. If that happens, I may feel like I've lost love. And, that hurts until I remember those are short-term losses not meant to be in my life for the long-term. When I love myself enough to ask for what I need, I'm not really risking love. Rather, I'm taking care of it. I'm also growing it.

Wonderful people exist in this world who can help me. When I ask for help, they will find me. My request becomes their directions. When they find me, I will receive them.

(Editor's Note: We're opening up our Caregiving chatroom for extended hours from 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT, 4 p.m. PT) until 11 p.m. ET (10 p.m. CT, 9 p.m. MT, 8 p.m. PT) on the third Sunday of every month. Our Certified Caregiving Consultants will be on hand to offer suggestions, resources and an understanding ear. Please feel free to stop in when you can on January 15, 2017.)

Like this article? Share on social