Friday: Working and Caregiving Video Chat

Denise

Friday: Working and Caregiving Video Chat

Denise
What's it like to juggle caregiving and a career? Four family caregivers discuss the juggle during our video chat. Learn more about our panelists below our chat.



Our panelists include:

  • Claire Day, our dementia care expert, joins Denise on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 11:30 a.m. ET (10:30 a.m. CT, 9:30 a.m. MT, 8:30 a.m. PT) on Your Caregiving Journey, our Internet talk show. Claire is Senior Vice President of the Alzheimer's Association, Delaware Valley chapter and recently added responsibilities to expand and approve our e strategy, as well as focus on research and public policy. Claire currently cares for her dad from a distance and previously cared for her mom.

  • Christopher MacLellan is affectionately known as "The Bow Tie Guy" in many caregiving circles. Faced with his partner's diagnosis of esophageal cancer in 2011, Chris started a caregiving blog entitled, "The Purple Jacket," and is an ardent advocate for caregivers and their carees through his blog and radio show, "Healing Ties." Chris and his deceased partner, Bernard Richard Schiffer, were featured in a 2015 Pulitzer Prize nominated caregiving story, "In Sickness and in Health: A Couple's Final Journey" which has been read by over 400,000 people worldwide. In 2016, Chris earned a masters degree in Leadership and Communication from Gonzaga University and is the founder of the Whole Care Network, Inc. The author of "What's The Deal With Caregiving", Chris presents regularly on topics that impact family caregivers and LGBT seniors.

  • Michelle Seitzer, who cared for her grandfather and now cares for her daughter who has special needs. Michelle is a freelance writer/editor who is passionate about elder care and loves Norway, NYC, antiques, her family and the arts. As of June 2013, she’s also an adoptive mother and currently resides in Quakertown, Penn., with her husband, a high school welding teacher, and her 5-year-old daughter. You can follow Michelle on Twitter: @MichelleSeitzer.


Resources