New: Chat for Those Caring for a Family Member Who Had a Stroke

Denise

New: Chat for Those Caring for a Family Member Who Had a Stroke

Denise
hands-touchginWe're adding a new monthly chat!

Penny Goree, a student and soon-to-be graduate in our Certified Caregiving Consultant training program, will lead a monthly chat in our Caregiving chatroom for those who care for a family member who had a stroke. Our first chat will happen on July 6 at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT, 4 p.m. PT). Penny will host the chat on the first Wednesday of every month at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT, 4 p.m. PT).

Penny has been caring for her husband, Tim, since the year 2000 when he suffered a stroke at the young age of 50. The stroke diminished his speech and the use of the right side of his body. During the past 16 years of caregiving, Penny has accrued extensive knowledge of caregiving, as well as empathy and compassion for other caregivers.

Penny currently helps facilitate “Life After Stroke,” a support group for families affect by stroke in Gainesville, Fla. In the past, Penny was involved with “The Stroke of Hope” in South Florida, where she worked with caregiver support and helped launch an “Aphasia Program” which served patients with aphasia, a neurological disorder caused by damage to the portions of the brain that are responsible for language. Primary signs of the disorder include difficulty in expressing oneself when speaking, trouble understanding speech, and difficulty with reading and writing.

Penny went back to school after her husband’s stroke and received an AA in Human Services which has helped her on her path of supporting other caregivers in their role as a caregiver. Penny is also an International Coach Federation member. Penny will be traveling in July to Brooks Rehabilitation Aphasia Center for “Communication Partner Training” that she is excited to share with other caregivers.

You can connect with Penny on her profile page: @pgoree.

To join our monthly chat for those who care for a family member who had a stroke, just click on the orange “Chat” button and head into the Caregiving chatroom.

Not a Caregiving.com member? Create your free Caregiving.com account. And, be sure to check out our schedule of caregiving and after-caregiving chats.

Like this article? Share on social