So She Left

0

So She Left

0
Yesterday morning at 1:36 a.m. the phone rang. I was dealing with a nasty double Charlie Horse issue (both legs, both calves AND both feet) that had hit at 1:30 a.m.

No middle of the night phone call is ever good. This one ended my world.

At 1:30 a.m. -- the exact minute that my legs decided to try to kill me -- my mother died.

I had been with her after work until about 8:00 p.m. when she fell sleep. She had been in and out but more alert than Monday, focused on me when I talked to her and responded.

I told her that if she wanted to stay, she needed to eat -- she had gotten to completely refusing anything on Sunday. I also told her though that if she needed/wanted to go it was okay, I would be okay. Told her not to worry about me.

So at 1:30 a.m. she left.

Like this article? Share on social

5 Comments

Sign in to comment

CathyJ

Cat, I am so sorry. I missed this post earlier and wasn't aware of your loss. You were a beautiful caregiver and daughter. My deepest sympathy.

Lynette Whiteman

I am so, so sorry for the loss of your mother Cat. No matter how old or how sick, it still leaves such a huge hole in your heart. I hope that in the coming days and months and years, you will be comforted to know that you did the absolute best for her and she always knew she was loved.

Denise

One other thought, Cat: Please feel free to join our After Caregiving Ends chat, which happens every Sunday at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. MT, 4 p.m. PT) in our After Caregiving Ends chatroom. <a class='bp-suggestions-mention' href='https://www.caregiving.com/members/lillie/' rel='nofollow'>@lillie</a> leads the chat if you have any questions.

Denise

Thank you for all you did for your mom. Know our support surrounds you. Lean on us.

jan

My sincere sympathies to you, CatKBorn, with the passing of your dear mother. Know we stand with you today. Thank you for sharing with us today and all along your journey together.