Tell Us: Where Do You Get Stuck in Your Story?

Denise

Tell Us: Where Do You Get Stuck in Your Story?

Denise
Care Break, our new series on Your Caregiving Journey, aired this morning. Bruce McIntyre, my co-host who cares for his wife, shared his caregiving story. (You can listen to our show via the player, below.)

During our show, we talked about how a diagnosis interrupts life. It also interrupts your life story, challenging you to find another way to share where you are in your life. Bruce shared that we have orientation, disorientation and reorientation. Prior to the diagnosis, Bruce and his wife, Kathy, were oriented to the life they had planned. They had a young daughter and had just welcomed their second child. Life was good. Then came her diagnosis which threw them into disorientation. I'll let you listen to the show to hear how they went from disorientation to reorientation.

Bruce spoke about the importance of being a victor in your story rather then a victim to your circumstance. It can be hard, though, to get to the place where you say, as Kathy did, "I am not going to be victim to this."

Getting stuck in our story often turns us into that victim. We may constantly talk about who doesn't help us. We might repeat the details of the day of the diagnosis, reliving it as if it just happened. Without meaning to, we become the record that replays one note, never moving to the next. We turn into our own sour note.

Where do you get stuck in your story? What's the detail or incidence or experience that you can't move beyond? Tell us where you get stuck in your story in our comments section, below. On Wednesday, August 20, Bruce and I will choose a winner from our comments section to receive a copy of his book, Graceful Transitions.

Reminder: Join us for our next Care Break on Thursday, August 28, at 1 p.m. ET (Noon CT, 10 a.m. PT).


Check Out Caregiving Podcasts at Blog Talk Radio with Denise Brown on BlogTalkRadio

Like this article? Share on social