The Story Always Gets Out

Denise

The Story Always Gets Out

Denise
On Monday morning, Kristi Petersen Schoonover, a ghost story writer, joined me on Your Caregiving Journey. You can listen to our show via the player below.

Kristi began her caregiving experience at age seven, when her mom was diagnosed with cancer soon after giving birth to her third child. With her mom's diagnosis, Kristi, the oldest of the three, became head of the household, responsible for meals and child care. During our show, we spoke about how her writing helped Kristi cope with with caregiving. Soon after caregiving began, Kristi began typing out stories, featuring her as the heroine, on the typewriter in her basement.

Although Kristi rarely spoke about her caregiving experiences, she now realizes the horror stories she wrote were all about her caregiving experience. It struck me that somehow the story we need to tell finds its way out, especially when we don't realize we have a story to tell.

Kristi's horror novel, Bad Apple, is available from Vagabondage Books. Because she was a youth caregiver, 50% of her royalty checks from its sale are being donated to the American Association of Caregiving Youth. To purchase your copy and learn more about Krisit, visit her website.

(Program Note: Kristi and I will continue our conversation on Your Caregiving Journey on Monday, November 19, at 11 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 8 a.m. PT). We'll discuss how to add choice to a situation, like caregiving, which seems devoid of choice. Listen here.)


Listen to internet radio with Denise Brown on Blog Talk Radio